Who are the Wabanaki?

The term Wabanaki refers to the Native American People of Northeastern North America.

Their territory includes:

  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • Vermont
  • portions of Quebec
  • New Brunswick
  • Nova Scotia
  • portions of New York State

Modern day Tribes or Nations included under the term Wabanaki are:

  • Penobscot
  • Passamaquoddy
  • Maliseet
  • Mi’kmaq
  • Abenaki of Odanak
  • Abenaki of Wolinak


To learn more, visit the following pages:


The Historic Wabanaki People

A Wabanaki Timeline

A Few Tips, Cautions, & Problems For Wabanaki Researchers

General History of Abenaki on the Upper Connecticut Region

This blog Sponsored by Ne-Do-Ba. (www.nedoba.org)

 All content Copyright © 2011-2014 Ne-Do-Ba

Leave a comment

Have a opinion or additional information - leave a comment here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.